Three Armenians Elected To The French Parliament

Three Armenians have been elected to the French Parliament following legislative elections on June 12 and 19, 2022, to elect the 577 members of the 16th National Assembly of the Fifth French Republic.

The following are the elected Armenians,
Sarah Tanzilli, Rhône, LREM
Guillaume Kasbarian, Eure-et-Loir, LREM
Astrid Panosyan-Bouvet, Paris, LREM

Didier Parakian is an alternate and will become MP if Sabrina Agresti-Roubache who was elected from LREM, representing Bouches-du-Rhône, resigns.

The three deputies of Armenian origin will sit in the National Assembly for five years.

To note, Sarah Tanzilli is a member of the FRA Dachnaktsoutioun.

“Candidates supported by the Armenian Advocacy Committee and by FRA Dachnaktsoutioun have been largely successful, while almost all of the pro-Turkish and pro-Azeri candidates suffered heavy defeats,” said the FRA Dachnaktsoutioun Central Committee for Western Europe in a statement on June 2022.

The elections have been described as the most indecisive legislative elections since the establishment of the five-year term in 2000 and the reversal of the electoral calendar in 2002. For the first time since 1997, the incumbent president of France does not have an absolute majority in Parliament. As no alliance won a majority, it resulted in a hung parliament for the first time since 1988.

The elections took place following the 2022 French presidential election, which was held in April 2022.

La République En Marche! (abbreviated LREM; translated as “The Republic on the Move” or “Republic Forward” is a liberal political party in France. On May 5, 2022, the party changed its name to Renaissance ahead of the 2022 legislative election. The party was founded on April 6, 2016, by Emmanuel Macron.

Popular stories

Explore additional categories