Levon Aronian Defeats Magnus Carlsen During Tie-Break, Advancing To The Final.

Armenian Chess Grandmaster Levon Aronian stuns Magnus Carlsen, defeating him during the tie-break and advancing to the final of the Goldmoney Asian Rapid Chess Tournament, reports News.am.

During the final, Aronian’s opponent will be Russian Vladislav Artemiev, who defeated Chinese Ding Liren 1.5-0.5 during the tie-break. The prize fund is $ 100,000.

On the second day of the semi-final, the Armenian chess grandmaster won 3-1 (2 victories, 2 tied matches) after the four main matches and moved to the tie-break. On the first day. During the tie-break, Aronian scored victories in both matches (2-0).

The final will take place on July 3-4.

The Goldmoney Asian Rapid is the seventh leg of the Meltwater Champions Chess and is being played from June 26 until July 4. Remarkably, the highest-rated woman player in the world, Hou Yifan, has been included in the 16-player lineup. Follow the action live with expert commentary starting at 13:00 CEST (7:00 ET, 16:30 IST).

The preliminary stage is a single round robin event. From Saturday until Monday, the participants will play five games per day to find out which eight players move on to the knockout stage. The tournament features a $100,000 prize fund, with $30,000 for first place.

The time control is 15 minutes for all moves, with a 10-second increment from move 1. No draw offers are allowed before move 40.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *