BREAKING NEWS: Russia’s Lavrov Announces Ceasefire Agreed Between Armenia/Artsakh & Azerbaijan As Of October 10.

As a result of consultations between the Foreign Ministers of Armenia, Azerbaijan and Russia, it has been decided to establish ceasefire in Nagorno Karabakh conflict zone from 12:00 on October 10.

Russian Foreign Minister Sergey Lavrov made the announcement after more than nine hours of consultations with Armenian Foreign Minister Zohrab Mnatsakanyan and Azerbaijani Foreign Minister Jeyhun Bayramov.

The ceasefire will be established for humanitarian purposes, i.e. exchange of prisoners of war and bodies with the mediation and in line with the criteria of the International Committee of the Red Cross, Lavrov said.

He added that concrete parameters of the ceasefire will be agreed additionally.

The Republic of Armenia and the Republic of Azerbaijan will proceed to substantial negotiations with the mediation of the OSCE Minsk Group Co-Chairs, with a view of reaching soonest settlement of the conflict in a peaceful way.

The sides agree to accept the unchangeability of the negotiation format.

H/T Public Radio of Armenia

Popular stories

Explore additional categories